To promote entrepreneurial engagement and education ASCEND will host a number of entrepreneurial events and promote other events of interest.  

 

NIH SBIR/STTR Applicant Assistance Program

Open to current and future entrepreneurs developing innovative technology ideas in the healthcare space, AAP is aimed at helping small businesses apply for Phase I SBIR/STTR funding. Selected small businesses can participate in the program at no cost. Through AAP, companies can receive:

  • Needs assessment/small business mentoring
  • Phase I application preparation support
  • Application review

The application deadline will be Thursday, December 10, 2020, 3:00PM MST / 5:00PM EST

For more information and to apply, please click here.

 

Navigating FDA Online Webinar

Hosted by Dr. Eugene Krentsel, Chief Scientific Officer of XLerateHealth, this webinar will feature Dr. Sasiela of the NIH detailing drug and biologic development requirements, as well as Dr. Berman of MITRE covering device and diagnostic development requirements. This webinar will be broadcast on November 10, 2020 at 10:00AM-11:30AM PST / 11:00AM-12:30PM MST /  1:00PM-2:30PM EST

For more information and to register, please click here.

   

ASCEND Commercialization Course

Learn the basics of biomedical commercialization! The ASCEND Hub hosted the Bridging the Gap: Commercialization virtual short course in October for faculty, staff, and students at academic institutions in the Western IDeA States. This four-week course covers overviews of these topics:

  • Commercialization Path
  • Intellectual Property Protection
  • Innovation Funding
  • Pitch Deck Preparation

We meet one hour a week to discuss what the participants learned on their own through ASCEND Hub webinars and suggested readings. Please contact Kathy Foster at katfoster@salud.unm.edu with questions and inquiries about upcoming commercialization course cohorts.

 

NIH Small Business Success Stories

The NIH SEED office has created a new website that highlights the products and services small businesses have developed with NIH support. The website works as a new interactive mapping tool to highlight the amazing stories of success that have come out of NIH small business investments. Now it’s easy to find stories from different parts of the country. You can look up stories by disease area, or even by the type of technology or product development stage! NIH funding and support helps create a solid foundation for small businesses, allowing them to pivot to address emerging public health needs like the coronavirus pandemic.

Click here to learn more!